LEISURE

I lie on my back

On the cool floor,

My head cradled on

Upturned palms,

On lazy afternoons.

I spend lone hours

Crouched over books

Or over sheets of paper,

With brushes and colours;

Or I lie on my back,

Listening to music,

Earphones plugged into

My ears, lazily letting

The music wash over me

And the coolness

Of the hard floor

Flow into me. And

While my eyes watch

The hours grow older and

Daylight change colour ,

My mind wanders off into

Strange realms, thinking

Too much or too little,

Picking its path, so that

History, Philosophy, Fantasy

And music, a bit of

Everything, blends in,

Comfortably,

With daydreams.

2 thoughts on “LEISURE

Leave a Reply

