Chitrangada

Sreeparnaa Chaudhury

Different children have different aspirations in their growing years. While a lot of my friends aspired to be doctors, some wanted to travel to the moon, a few hoped to create magic with words and become poets and yet some, fascinated by Barbie dolls, toy tanks and rubber-ducks, wanted to be toy-makers. I, too, had a dream. I dreamed of becoming a classical dancer. A puerile dream that became stronger with time and turned into a burning desire that continued to sweep over me like a flame.

Very early in my life, possibly because of the insatiable curiosity that was kindled in me when I, secretly, watched my mother practise in the bedroom, I knew I was born to explore and conquer the bewitching world of dancing – something that Amma had happily discerned about me without almost any effort. She could because she was a trained Bharatnatyam dancer herself. She had begun…

View original post 3,367 more words

Leave a Reply

