The Last Few Minutes

I sit in the office

In the late evening

Trying to keep the sleep

Out of my eyes, rubbing

My fingers over them

Listlessly. The darkness

Gathers outside, waiting

To enfold my sleepy self

In its comforting embrace.

With sleepy eyes, I glance

At my watch, often,

Trying to wish away

The last few moments

Faster. For the loud

Glare of streetlights

Is waiting impatiently

Outside to welcome

Me as I emerge

From the cool interior

Into the warm, busy night.

Leave a Reply

