ELECTRICITY

couple_love_kiss_snow_umbrella_100118_1280x720

I gaze into your eyes

And read everything –

All that you can’t tell me,

All that stuff you’re feeling.

Trust me, I feel the same way;

But, like you, just cannot say.

We’re two lonely, silent souls;

The silence is just taking its toll.

Why must we fear love so?

Why can’t we just let go

Past pains and this loneliness,

Absence of hope and our distress?

Who knows if this love’s real?

Who cares whether we’re ideal?

So many doubts assail me;

Yet I can feel the electricity.

Our stupid, practical minds are fearful

But our hearts can feel each other’s pull.

Amazing, isn’t it, how every time

I claim your breaths, as you do mine?

How our bodies move in perfect sync?

How, when apart, we still share a link?

Whenever we meet, the sparks fly;

Yet we keep wondering – Why?

What say you that we give romance

And this electricity an honest chance?

Maybe it will light up our life

And help us through a sea of strife.

I’d so like us to grow old together

And be buried beneath a quilt of heather.

What is life if we do not dare

To live this love that is so rare?

 

Leave a Reply

