Time out from NaNo

shield-nano-blue-brown-rgb-hires

It’s been five days since NaNoWriMo started and Phew! I’m already wiping the sweat off my brow. Has it really been just five days? What with the figment of a planning and working on plots, it seems much longer; say, more like five years. And why shouldn’t it? I’m not even a regular writer of prose, much less a novelist. Period! So what the heck am I doing @NaNo? For one thing, I’m training myself to write prose, instead of just poetry, regularly; I’m thinking of it as yoga for my imagination. I’m working on something that might turn out to be something like a novel. Or not. What difference does it make? I’m writing everyday, morning and evening, doggedly persistent; and that has been one of the major goals all along. Most importantly, I’m enjoying myself and that is a really great experience, in every way that I can think of.

Today, however, I’ve decided to take some time off – just a few hours, not more. Not just to write this blog post. No. There are a couple of upcoming events in my personal life that I need to take care of, alongside NaNo. The most exciting one is definitely a wedding. Next Saturday onward, I’m going to be, officially, a married woman. Yikes! My teeth are already working hard at my nails, at the mere mention of it. For believe it or not, aside from being exciting, marriage is also quite the worry-evoking thing for me. Let’s not go into the reasons, though. So, instead of spending the day tapping away at my computer, I too time off to go for a session of self-beautification. (Huge grin decorating my face at the moment, at the memory of the oh!-so-pleasurable time spent pampering myself.) Also, I hadn’t had the chance to talk to my would-be in the last for days, and I was greatly missing his attentions. That was something that needed sorting out, too. I needed some personal time away from all the excitement of NaNoWriMo, too. That being done, I’m ready to be back in the groove.

As far as an update of my NaNo word-count is concerned, I’ve written around 500 words per day. So what about the 50k goal? Ha! Ha! What about it? That’s not going to happen anytime soon. Nah! But what I’m aiming for is a modest 20k, which is HUGE, considering that, in nearly two years of NaNo, I’ve written less than 10k. So 20k in thirty days, what with all the excitement and distractions and everything, is not just MARATHON; it’s going to be front-page NEWS, where I’m concerned.

Leave a Reply

